Teacher 2 Teacher

From Trends 2 Tips in Adult ESL

Building Better Learners: The Teacher’s Worksheet

These are questions to consider as you plan your class for the next academic year. Any of these questions would serve as an interesting staff development conversation.

Setting Goals

·          What are my students’ goals in coming to English class?

·          How do I find out about their goals?

·          How do I model goal setting in class?

 

Charting Progress

·          How do my students know they are making progress?  What feedback do I give them?  (notes, tests, stars?)

·          What opportunities do I give students to assess their own learning? (checklists, logs, brief reflections on what been studied, self-testing, self-recording?)

 

Developing Organization Skills

·          How do I help my students develop better organizational skills?  Do I check their notebooks?  Do I talk about where papers should be stored?  Do we decide which papers are most important and where to place them?

·          Do I have class systems for when students papers? (folders, bins, labels)

·          Do I have a class system for returning papers to students?   

 

Developing Strong Study Habits

·          · Do I model in class how to do homework assignments?

·           What systems do my students use to record homework assignments?

·           What materials do my students use to study outside of class?

·          What do I know about my students’ study time outside of class?  How often do they study? Where? With whom? 

 

Developing Study Skills

·          Which learning and memorizing strategies do I teach in class? 

·          How often does the class review material?   What review routines do I model in class?  (recalling material, using flashcards, writing questions?)

·          Do my students understand they best learn? Do they undertsnad the different ways people can learn? ( visual, kinesthetic, auditory, and/or aural learning)

 

Self-correction Routines

·          Do I model in class how to use an answer key responsibly?

·          In class do students practice reading their written work aloud in order to hear for small errors or missing words?

·          Do students know how to record and playback their voices on their phones?  Do they use this device to practice pronunciation?

 

Independent Study Resources

·          Do my students know about public libraries? Do they all have library cards?

·          Do my students have access to the Internet (computers or smart phones)? Do they have email accounts? Do they study English materials online?

·          Do I talk to students about parts of their textbook they can study on their own?

·   Do I talk to students about independent learning resources at our school (a lending library? a computer lab?) Do students understand which materials are best for independent study?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

