Tags

, ,

We all have ways to get the most out of our study time.  Some of us work best in the early morning.  Others do better burning that midnight oil.  Over many years, we have developed study and work  habits that support our strengths.

Adult students with interrupted education often haven’t had the opportunity to develop a sense of how they learn best    As teachers we can help them think about their study habit and how they learn best.

I recently I wrote up a survey about study preferences. Focus on one topic at a time with students and give them a few weeks to observe their own tendencies and preferences before moving on to the next topic.   For each topic, have students share what they learn about their own study habits and share tips.

 How I Study Best

Yes

No

I’m not sure

Noise

  1. I need quiet to study.
  1. I like music when I study.
  1. I like a TV or radio on when I study.

 How I Study Best

Yes

No

I’m not sure

People

  1. I like to study alone.
  1. I like to study with other people.

How I Study Best

 

Yes

No

I’m not sure

Food

  1. I like to drink coffee or tea when I study.
  1. I study best when I am a little hungry.
  1. I study best after a snack.
  1. Some foods help me study better.

 How I Study Best

Yes

No

I’m not sure

My body

  1. I need frequent breaks to stretch when I study.
  1. My neck and shoulders get tense when I study.
  1. My hand hurts when I write a lot.
  1. I get very sleepy when I study.
  1. I need my reading glasses when I study.
