Tags

,

Sometimes I use dictation to help students focus on spelling and sound patterns in English.   This is one variation.

 

Word Family Dictation:

1.     I draw two columns on the board and write a word family at the top of each column. Students copy the columns on paper.

2.     I say a word and students repeat it.  Students then identify which column the word  belongs in.

3.     Students sound out and write the word on their papers.

4.     I ask the class to spell the word aloud as I write it in the appropriate column on the board. 

Here are some contrasting word family dictation options:

at

ot

cat

fat

mat

rat

flat

sat

that

 

dot

got

shot

not

pot

hot

all

ell

hall

small

tall

ball

wall

mall

fall

cell

fell

sell

spell

well

smell

yell

in

ine

pin

twin

chin

bin

skin

thin

 

fine

mine

line

nine

shine

ock

ick

sock

block

clock

lock

rock

stock

shock

sick

kick

click

lick

stick

trick

brick

